Lewis Hamilton wins Belgian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton wins Belgian Grand Prix for the 4th time

Lewis Hamilton has won the Belgian Grand Prix, finishing ahead of his team-mate, Valtteri Bottas, and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen.

The British driver led from the start to pull off his 89th career win, moving two behind Michael Schumacher’s Formula One record. Hamilton now equals Kimi Raikkonen’s record of 4 wins at Spa-Francorchamps and dedicated his triumph to Chadwick Boseman.

The Belgian Grand Prix held on Sunday was chaotic from the beginning, with the two Mercedes drivers scramming off the line and the rest of the pack scrambling for track positions in the rundown to Turn 1. Ferrari driver, Charles Leclerc, gained four places in Turn 1 and tucked behind on the long flat out section through Eau Rouge.

Then, Pierre Gasly pulled off a sensational overtake on Sergio Perez as he punched his way past through the inside line at Eau Rouge and ahead of Perez at the top of Raidillon.

The long Kemmel straight provides many opportunities for drivers to overtake as the slipstream allows them a significant amount of speed to pull out ahead of their competitor before the next corner arrives. Daniel Ricciardo tried a similar move on Max Verstappen at Turn 5, but the Renault was no match to the Honda-powered Red Bull.

At lap 11, a mistake by Antonio Giovinazzi at the Rivage corner threw his car off course, leading to a freak accident that dislodged his front-left tire. His vehicle then headed towards George Russell’s car, and it spewed debris all across the track. This brought out the safety car, and it spurred on the action at the pitlane as most drivers except Gasly and Perez pitted to switch to the hard compound tires for a long run pace.

The race restarted at lap 14 with the top three getting away from the field, and a bunch of overtakes took place. It started with Kimi Raikkonen getting ahead of Sebastian Vettel as the Ferrari struggled all weekend. Alex Albon had the grippier medium tires and pulled ahead of Sergio Perez with a stellar move outside the Bus Stop Chicane.

Pierre Gasly, who had older tires, had to concede 4th place to Daniel Ricciardo at the Kemmel Straight. This outcome led him to pit for new tires, and he came out 14th.

After this point, the race was rather dull with track positions remaining mostly unchanged except for Gasly, who breezed past everyone as he raced on for his life, paying tribute to the late Anthoine Hubert.

An exciting battle was looming in the last few laps as Albon struggled to defend against a charging Esteban Ocon and had to concede 5th place at the last lap. He managed to hold on to 6th place from Norris, who finished P7.

Gasly finished 8th and was voted the driver of the day by fans for his exceptional performance in the Belgian GP.

Mercedes continued its flawless performance this season as it finished 1st and 2nd place, with Verstappen finishing in 3rd place.

Renault had its best-ever team result since Monza 2019, finished 4th and 5th place with its car displaying the capabilities on the track’s flat-out sections. Ferrari had a weekend to forget as its drivers finished P13 and P14, exposing the flaws in the underpinnings of the SF1000.

On to the next race at the Temple of Speed, Monza!


About Pranav Anand

Pranav Anand
Pranav Anand is a mechanical engineer from Bangalore, India. He has always been fascinated with how cars work since childhood and he always had an inclination towards the performance and technical aspects of cars of all shapes and forms. He also loves listening to rock and metal music and exploring new places.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *